how to activate this internet weather station in yowindow

Personnal Weather Station (PWS) support
Post Reply
dentaurus

how to activate this internet weather station in yowindow

Post by dentaurus » Sun Apr 10, 2011 6:50 am

live in Caracas ...
yowindow is excellent!
but has the default station Maiquetia airport.
The airport is 45 kms from my city.
want to include a more accurate weather station, and is in Caracas.
their web address is: http://caracasmet.yv5hyw.info/index.htm
there is any way to load this season, in the properties of the site, and activate as a second option.
I appreciate your comments
hopefully be possible ..
excuse my English
Greetings from Caracas / Venezuela

rafael

User avatar
ikarus1969
Posts: 1645
Joined: Wed Nov 18, 2009 9:58 am
Location: Vienna, Austria

Re: how to activate this internet weather station in yowindo

Post by ikarus1969 » Sun Apr 10, 2011 9:44 am

dentaurus wrote:live in Caracas ...
yowindow is excellent!
but has the default station Maiquetia airport.
The airport is 45 kms from my city.
want to include a more accurate weather station, and is in Caracas.
their web address is: http://caracasmet.yv5hyw.info/index.htm
there is any way to load this season, in the properties of the site, and activate as a second option.
I appreciate your comments
hopefully be possible ..
excuse my English
Greetings from Caracas / Venezuela

rafael
Hi rafael!

can't confirm Maiquetia. If i add Caracas/Venezuela the location properties show me that the used METAR is 11km away.

see screenshot:
YoWindow - Caracas (Venezuela) - used Metar 11km away.jpg
YoWindow - Caracas (Venezuela) - used Metar 11km away.jpg (43.58 KiB) Viewed 10100 times

Currently it's not possible to use an arbitrary websites values for YoWindow. Their format differs too much from the format YoWindow needs.

But if you contact the owner(s) of this site and convince them to create a xml-file in YoWindow format on their webserver you would be able to use this file!
»Man is impressive. In a universe full of untold secrets he has invented boredom.«

FvE
Posts: 7114
Joined: Mon Oct 19, 2009 11:56 pm
Name: Fred
Location: Leiden, Netherlands
Contact:

Re: how to activate this internet weather station in yowindo

Post by FvE » Sun Apr 10, 2011 10:33 pm

Hi Rafael,

In YoWindow it's only possible to use an ICAO code.
Most of these Metar codes come from airports.
The closest one for Caracas is SVMI, which stands for Maiquetia airport.

Unfortunately there's no Metar closer to you (La Campiña, right?).
Like ikarus already wrote, there's no possibility to include other weatherstations.
Sorry, but that's it :sorry:

Fred

Wolfgang

Re: how to activate this internet weather station in yowindo

Post by Wolfgang » Wed Sep 19, 2012 6:00 am

Hello,

i live in Kazakhstan. But my relatives live in Germany. I have added their hometown to YoWindow. Often we noticed that the real weather is different from the "YoWindow-Weather". Now i see that the METAR-datas YoWindow use, are from a weatherstation 80km away. And because the landscape there is mountainous, the weather could be totally different in a radius of 20 km's.
Today i found out, that the hometown of my relatives have their own weather-station. And they provide their data's on a website.
here: Weather in Aalen/Germany
and here: Weather in Aalen/Germany for WAP-download

Now my question :roll:
is it possible to use this datas in YoWindow? And if possible, how :D

Greetings
Wolfgang

User avatar
Mallorca
Posts: 1757
Joined: Sun Jul 11, 2010 8:59 am
Name: Werner Heidotting
Location: Son Servera, Mallorca, Spain
Contact:

Re: how to activate this internet weather station in yowindo

Post by Mallorca » Wed Sep 19, 2012 1:21 pm

Hi Wolfgang,
unfortunately no :cry: As you can read in the answer from Fred about the same question it is only possible to plug in a PWS and no other datas.
Now i see that the METAR-datas YoWindow use, are from a weatherstation 80km away.
That's not right. Ahlen is using the METAR Münster-Osnabrück and this is only 40 km far away.
You can also try EDLP Paderborn/Lippstadt.
Werner
Unbenannt.PNG
Unbenannt.PNG (33.26 KiB) Viewed 8988 times

User avatar
ikarus1969
Posts: 1645
Joined: Wed Nov 18, 2009 9:58 am
Location: Vienna, Austria

Re: how to activate this internet weather station in yowindo

Post by ikarus1969 » Wed Sep 19, 2012 1:34 pm

Hi Werner!

Wolfgang wrote about "Aalen", not "Ahlen" :wink:

Do you know of a METAR he can use that's nearer to Aalen than the used "ETEB"?
»Man is impressive. In a universe full of untold secrets he has invented boredom.«

Wolfgang

Re: how to activate this internet weather station in yowindo

Post by Wolfgang » Wed Sep 19, 2012 3:09 pm

ikarus1969 wrote:Hi Werner!

Wolfgang wrote about "Aalen", not "Ahlen" :wink:

Do you know of a METAR he can use that's nearer to Aalen than the used "ETEB"?
Hi ikarus1969,

thx for your post. Yeah, its Aalen and not Ahlen. That's a great difference.

Sad that i cant use the data's from this site. This would be very good if it works. Maybe in future YoWindow gives us a chance to do this? Not everyone has a private PWS.

Thanks for help and have a nice one!

Wolfgang

User avatar
Mallorca
Posts: 1757
Joined: Sun Jul 11, 2010 8:59 am
Name: Werner Heidotting
Location: Son Servera, Mallorca, Spain
Contact:

Re: how to activate this internet weather station in yowindo

Post by Mallorca » Wed Sep 19, 2012 3:32 pm

Oh boys .... I forgot to turn on my brain before answering :cry:
Up to now I never heard about this small town and the only town I know was Ahlen/Westfahlen 8)
I'm afraid there is somthing wrong in the Yowindow list:
Unbenannt.JPG
Unbenannt.JPG (38.21 KiB) Viewed 8984 times
ETEB is not "Katterbach/USA" it is Ansbach in Germany (an US-Army heliport)
The Geo-ID is ok.
Unbenannt2.JPG
Unbenannt2.JPG (50.35 KiB) Viewed 8984 times
Aalen/Heidenheim has his own METAR EDPA, but I'm afraid, this is only a very small airport and is not sending continously datas.
There are a lot more of this small airports nearby, but I think there is the same problem.

Werner

Wolfgang

Re: how to activate this internet weather station in yowindo

Post by Wolfgang » Wed Sep 19, 2012 3:39 pm

You are right, Werner!

Only ETEB (Weatherstation near Ansbach) gives continuos datas.

But this is, to promise correct weather, too far away. Sometimes they have maybe 20°degrees in Ansbach, and in Aalen they have only 12°degrees. This is because Aalen is near the "Schwäbische Alb" and there the weather is mostly colder and there is more rain and fog.

But, there is no other possibility. So we have to deal with ETEB.

Thanks for all!
Wolfgang

Post Reply