YoWindow source should be made public

Have you found an error? Report here!
Post Reply
eldiener
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Dec 04, 2015 2:53 pm
Name: Edward Diener

YoWindow source should be made public

Post by eldiener » Fri Apr 20, 2018 12:03 am

It is a shame to see YoWindow both no longer being developed and no longer being supported. I would like to urge the developers to put the source code in the public domain somewhere, maybe under Github. The fact that it hangs periodically is a stunner, but even sadder is that this fine concept of a program is being abandoned without any attempt to fix it. I do not know the developers of YoWindow but I would like to urge them to make the source available for others to potentially fix its problems and continue offering a working program to developers. I love the display but the fact that it hangs periodically make it pretty useless as a reliable program.

User avatar
countryroads
Posts: 8737
Joined: Tue Apr 27, 2010 3:38 am
Name: Marty
Location: Mansfield, Ohio USA
Contact:

Re: YoWindow source should be made public

Post by countryroads » Sat Apr 21, 2018 3:17 am

Hi Edward,

Click on YoWindow RC b110 at the top of the forum page.
This is the latest build of YoWindow.

Install this build.
If you are still having problems, please post under the following.

viewforum.php?f=29

Also, make sure that you are clearing your cache.

:)
Marty

eldiener
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Dec 04, 2015 2:53 pm
Name: Edward Diener

Re: YoWindow source should be made public

Post by eldiener » Sat Apr 21, 2018 5:07 am

countryroads wrote:Hi Edward,

Click on YoWindow RC b110 at the top of the forum page.
This is the latest build of YoWindow.

Install this build.
If you are still having problems, please post under the following.

viewforum.php?f=29

Also, make sure that you are clearing your cache.

:)
Marty
I do not see anything in YoWindow for "clearing the cache". Where is that ?

User avatar
countryroads
Posts: 8737
Joined: Tue Apr 27, 2010 3:38 am
Name: Marty
Location: Mansfield, Ohio USA
Contact:

Re: YoWindow source should be made public

Post by countryroads » Sat Apr 21, 2018 6:53 am

Hi Edward,

You do not clear cache in YoWindow.

Do you have Ccleaner?
It will clear your Internet Cache.
You can also go to Internet Options and clear your browsing history.

I use Ccleaner most of the time.

If you have the same problem over and over again,
most likely, your cache needs to be cleared.

Did you install YoWindow RC b110 as I suggested?
I am not having any problems with b110 on my Windows 8.1.

:)
Marty

eldiener
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Dec 04, 2015 2:53 pm
Name: Edward Diener

Re: YoWindow source should be made public

Post by eldiener » Sat Apr 21, 2018 4:02 pm

countryroads wrote:Hi Edward,

You do not clear cache in YoWindow.

Do you have Ccleaner?
It will clear your Internet Cache.
You can also go to Internet Options and clear your browsing history.

I use Ccleaner most of the time.

If you have the same problem over and over again,
most likely, your cache needs to be cleared.

Did you install YoWindow RC b110 as I suggested?
I am not having any problems with b110 on my Windows 8.1.

:)
Marty
I have installed YoWindow RC b110 and am trying it. Thanks ! Hopefully it will not hang as the latest official version on Windows occasionally does.

BTW I fail to see what Internet cached files on Winodws has to do with any problems in YoWindow. I have plenty of disk space. I did get Windows disk cleanup to clean up much cache and temporary stuff, but again I doubt this could affect YoWindow in any way since I have plenty of disk space in any case.

User avatar
Wally©
Posts: 780
Joined: Sun Dec 12, 2010 2:18 am
Name: Walter

Re: YoWindow source should be made public

Post by Wally© » Sat Apr 21, 2018 8:06 pm

Fyi...

Your disk size has 0 to do with your internet cache...

It's the amount of space allocated to that specific folder...

Check your Windows/browser settings...

A Mac user with 0 issues...
Wally©...

(Ignorance can easily be overcome...Stupidity is 4ever...)

Post Reply