Please add Dome A (Argus)

Have not found your location in YoWindow?
Ask us.
We will add your location shortly.
Post Reply
hypernova
Posts: 60
Joined: Sat Jan 21, 2017 7:46 pm
Name: Alex

Please add Dome A (Argus)

Post by hypernova » Sun Feb 12, 2017 9:28 am

I've asked for this very important research station to be added repeatedly. Please add it- it might be the coldest location in the world because it is at a higher elevation than Vostok. Here are the particulars on it.

Elev 13399 ft 80.37 °S, 77.37 °E

Station ID 89577



https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Dome_A

hypernova
Posts: 60
Joined: Sat Jan 21, 2017 7:46 pm
Name: Alex

Re: Please add Dome A (Argus)

Post by hypernova » Sun Feb 12, 2017 9:41 am

I used the data already in the program, supplied for Summit Camp, Greenland (a similar research station in the northern hemisphere)

http://en.allmetsat.com/metar-taf/europ ... =pws:04416

pws:04416

That one is already in the program and is functional.

The one for Dome A should then be:

http://en.allmetsat.com/metar-taf/antar ... =pws:89577

pws:89577

Please make that one functional too!

User avatar
countryroads
Posts: 8759
Joined: Tue Apr 27, 2010 3:38 am
Name: Marty
Location: Mansfield, Ohio USA
Contact:

Re: Please add Dome A (Argus)

Post by countryroads » Mon Feb 13, 2017 4:13 am

Hi Alex,

In order to add a location, the location needs to be on Geonames.org and yr.no.
Dome A cannot be found on either, so it cannot be added to YoWindow.

Argus, Mount, Antarctica is already on YoWindow.
But it has no METAR station near it.
So if you add it to Windows or the Widget there will be no current conditions.
Android will allow you to select a PWS if there is one.

Argus, Mount
Enter the above to see how it works.

This is the best that we can do.
Sorry.

Marty

User avatar
countryroads
Posts: 8759
Joined: Tue Apr 27, 2010 3:38 am
Name: Marty
Location: Mansfield, Ohio USA
Contact:

Re: Please add Dome A (Argus)

Post by countryroads » Mon Feb 13, 2017 6:17 pm

Hi Alex,

http://www.yr.no/place/Antarctica/Other ... eogram.png

You may want to try the above for your comparisons.
It is a forecast only in metric.
But maybe it will help you.

Marty

hypernova
Posts: 60
Joined: Sat Jan 21, 2017 7:46 pm
Name: Alex

Re: Please add Dome A (Argus)

Post by hypernova » Mon Feb 13, 2017 9:37 pm

Many thanks- I found it! But how do I get current conditions? Is there any way for me to type in the name of a website to upload data from the site to update the current conditions?

hypernova
Posts: 60
Joined: Sat Jan 21, 2017 7:46 pm
Name: Alex

Re: Please add Dome A (Argus)

Post by hypernova » Mon Feb 13, 2017 9:39 pm

Marty, I'm not sure that's the right one because the lat/long seems to be off.

I found Dome A on geonames.org- here it is

http://www.geonames.org/search.html?q=Dome+A&country=AQ

5 Dome A go to wikipedia
FeatureType : mountain
Lat/Lng : -80.3667 / 77.35
Dome A or Dome Argus is a lofty ice dome on the Antarctic Plateau, located inland. It is thought to be the coldest naturally occurring place on Earth, with temperatures of near . It is the highest ice feature in Antarctica, consisting of an ice dome or eminence of elevation above sea level (...)

note the lat/long listed on geonames. The one listed for Mount Argus is -68.89/-63.8

User avatar
countryroads
Posts: 8759
Joined: Tue Apr 27, 2010 3:38 am
Name: Marty
Location: Mansfield, Ohio USA
Contact:

Re: Please add Dome A (Argus)

Post by countryroads » Tue Feb 14, 2017 4:36 am

Hi Alex,

Here is another link from an Australian site.
http://www.antarctica.gov.au/living-and ... _graph.png

They are using an AWS instead of a PWS.
I do not know if Weather Underground has a feed from this AWS.

Marty

hypernova
Posts: 60
Joined: Sat Jan 21, 2017 7:46 pm
Name: Alex

Re: Please add Dome A (Argus)

Post by hypernova » Tue Feb 14, 2017 7:13 pm

Thank you! That one is the right one!

I found it on WU too

https://www.wunderground.com/cgi-bin/fi ... ctica&MR=1

history page

https://www.wunderground.com/history/st ... story.html

There is no way to add this location to Yowindow is there? I wonder if it can be added the same way that Summit Camp was added (that's also an AWS).

Post Reply