Won't load weather for my location

See "Weather expired" or "No weather"? Probably your weather station is not reliable. Let us know - we will help.
Post Reply
Cyberpanda12
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Jan 14, 2014 6:53 am
Name: Bryan Lynch

Won't load weather for my location

Post by Cyberpanda12 » Tue Jan 14, 2014 6:58 am

I've entered my town as (home) on the locations page and it won't display the current temperature and other weather details for my town. It shows the full information for the town adjacent to mine, but of course not being my current location it's not terribly useful. Will there be a fix to this? I must have uninstalled and reinstalled the app ten or eleven times now.

User avatar
countryroads
Posts: 8782
Joined: Tue Apr 27, 2010 3:38 am
Name: Marty
Location: Mansfield, Ohio USA
Contact:

Re: Won't load weather for my location

Post by countryroads » Tue Jan 14, 2014 6:54 pm

Hi Bryan,

What is the location that you are having a problem with?
Thank you in advance.

Marty

Cyberpanda12
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Jan 14, 2014 6:53 am
Name: Bryan Lynch

Re: Won't load weather for my location

Post by Cyberpanda12 » Tue Jan 14, 2014 7:31 pm

Attleboro, MA is the town that won't work. It was working when I first installed the extension but it doesn't seem to now.

FvE
Posts: 7114
Joined: Mon Oct 19, 2009 11:56 pm
Name: Fred
Location: Leiden, Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Won't load weather for my location

Post by FvE » Tue Jan 14, 2014 10:16 pm

Hi Bryan,

This a typical Unreliable METAR station issue.
Therefor I've moved it to this subforum.

Your location 4929399, Attleboro/Massachusetts/United States
uses the METAR KSFZ North Central State Airport, Pawtucket, Rhode Island, United States at the moment.
This METAR has stopped working 2 weeks ago.

I think there may be 3 alternatives which could be useful to you.
KTAN - Taunton Municipal, King Field
KPVD - Theodore Francis Green State
KOWD - Norwood Memorial

I would like to ask you to test these and let us know which works best for you.
Since you are using the Chrome extension there is no possibility there to test this.
If you would be willing to download the free YoWindow desktop version however, you do have this possibility.
You can download it here: http://yowindow.com/deploy/yosetup.exe.
After you've downloaded it, put up Attleboro.
Go to Location/Properties and change the METAR code KSFZ to one of the above.

If you let us know which one works best we'll put up a request to the developer to have it changed in the database.
After that it will be working again for you in Chrome also.

Thank you in advance.
Fred

Cyberpanda12
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Jan 14, 2014 6:53 am
Name: Bryan Lynch

Re: Won't load weather for my location

Post by Cyberpanda12 » Thu Jan 16, 2014 6:47 am

KTAN seems to work just fine, sorry for the late reply.

FvE
Posts: 7114
Joined: Mon Oct 19, 2009 11:56 pm
Name: Fred
Location: Leiden, Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Won't load weather for my location

Post by FvE » Thu Jan 16, 2014 9:49 pm

Hi Bryan,

Thank you for lettng us know.
The request to change this is on the pending list.
I'll let you know here when it has been changed in the database.
Please be patient, this may take some time.

Fred

Post Reply