Version 2.0 App and Widget...

Questions, suggestions, error reports related to iOS edition of YoWindow
Stickboy
Posts: 127
Joined: Thu Dec 01, 2011 3:12 pm
Name: Scott Squibbles
Location: 718 S 8th St, Humboldt KS 66748 USA

Version 2.0 App and Widget...

Post by Stickboy » Mon May 14, 2018 5:05 am

First, thanks for the update! Looks and runs much better! I use METAR for my Current Weather. Why does it always default to Weather Underground? I think that there is a glitch with the stations being used for Current Weather!?

Second, the widget continually crashes and says that it is unable to load the weather. Also, the weather forecast gets chopped off and doesn’t show everything. The widget is too small or something?! The widget needs to be resized or something.

I’m using the iPhone X on iOS 11.3.1

Thanks and keep up the hard work,

Scott Squibbles
God's Not Dead!!
YoWindow is #1 :)

User avatar
par
Posts: 7919
Joined: Mon Sep 21, 2009 11:56 am
Name: Pasha
Location: Saint-Petersburg, Russia
Contact:

Re: Version 2.0 App and Widget...

Post by par » Mon May 14, 2018 7:15 am

Hi, Scott!

1. YoWindow uses Weather Underground by default for the USA. The weather provider setup is per location. When you switch to another location, the weather for it defaults to Weather Underground.

2. Widget crashing seems to be fixed in the recent beta version 2.1.1, check it out.
http://beta-ios-free.yowindow.com/

3. Can you send a screen-shot of the widget forecast being chopped off?
The number of days in the weather forecast is fixed due to technical limitations of Apple widgets.

Thanks for the nice words :)
Get YoWindow weather app for your phone or tablet.

Image Image Image

Stickboy
Posts: 127
Joined: Thu Dec 01, 2011 3:12 pm
Name: Scott Squibbles
Location: 718 S 8th St, Humboldt KS 66748 USA

Re: Version 2.0 App and Widget...

Post by Stickboy » Mon May 14, 2018 12:13 pm

I’m sorry! I should’ve explained a little better. So, I understand that it defaults to Weather Underground for each location. The problem that I see is whenever I open the app, after closing it, it defaults to Weather Underground. I have to go in and act like I am changing the station, before it displays the right information. I don’t actually change anything because I already changed the station for every location. Do you understand or did I confuse you?!

Also, I attached a screenshot of the widget and what it looks like. It doesn’t really show all of the information.
Attachments
B27BE35F-CD17-4CFB-A337-A8A7AEFA3320.png
God's Not Dead!!
YoWindow is #1 :)

User avatar
par
Posts: 7919
Joined: Mon Sep 21, 2009 11:56 am
Name: Pasha
Location: Saint-Petersburg, Russia
Contact:

Re: Version 2.0 App and Widget...

Post by par » Mon May 14, 2018 1:10 pm

1. I need to see your settings to understand the problem better.
Can you please share the following screens?
- The list of locations.
- The properties of the location.

2. Thanks for sharing the widget screenshot.
Now I understand what you mean.
I haven't seen this defect yet.
Have you made any changes to the font size in the system?
Get YoWindow weather app for your phone or tablet.

Image Image Image

Stickboy
Posts: 127
Joined: Thu Dec 01, 2011 3:12 pm
Name: Scott Squibbles
Location: 718 S 8th St, Humboldt KS 66748 USA

Re: Version 2.0 App and Widget...

Post by Stickboy » Mon May 14, 2018 1:52 pm

I have posted a private video showing you those screens. Sorry for the bad quality! I think that it is how the video was saved to my phone!? Here is the link: https://youtu.be/zEuCV8gIzLA

As far as the widget...I made the font as small as possible, in the system. I can read tiny fonts better, when everything fits on the screen. I don’t like scrolling side to side to have to read things. I changed all of my settings, when I first got my phone. Since then, I never touch my settings...unless I have to.
Attachments
DA210957-61C6-4668-836E-720E8B50245B.png
God's Not Dead!!
YoWindow is #1 :)

User avatar
par
Posts: 7919
Joined: Mon Sep 21, 2009 11:56 am
Name: Pasha
Location: Saint-Petersburg, Russia
Contact:

Re: Version 2.0 App and Widget...

Post by par » Mon May 14, 2018 2:16 pm

1. Thank you for the video.
So you have every location targeted to METAR.

I've tried this setup for Chanute and my weather has updated to METAR.
Weather Underground logo is not displayed.

I can't repeat the error.
Can you shoot a video depicting the error?

2. I'm going to test with small fonts later. Thanks for this tip.
Get YoWindow weather app for your phone or tablet.

Image Image Image

Stickboy
Posts: 127
Joined: Thu Dec 01, 2011 3:12 pm
Name: Scott Squibbles
Location: 718 S 8th St, Humboldt KS 66748 USA

Re: Version 2.0 App and Widget...

Post by Stickboy » Mon May 14, 2018 2:49 pm

Here is the video of my error and what I do every time that I open YoWindow: https://youtu.be/uuHh4iO8WpA
God's Not Dead!!
YoWindow is #1 :)

User avatar
par
Posts: 7919
Joined: Mon Sep 21, 2009 11:56 am
Name: Pasha
Location: Saint-Petersburg, Russia
Contact:

Re: Version 2.0 App and Widget...

Post by par » Mon May 14, 2018 3:43 pm

Thank you, this video was very important!
Do you experience this error with Humboldt only?
Get YoWindow weather app for your phone or tablet.

Image Image Image

Stickboy
Posts: 127
Joined: Thu Dec 01, 2011 3:12 pm
Name: Scott Squibbles
Location: 718 S 8th St, Humboldt KS 66748 USA

Re: Version 2.0 App and Widget...

Post by Stickboy » Mon May 14, 2018 3:54 pm

No, this happens with every local city in my area. I don’t think that I have any issues with the locations in Brazil?! If I switch to Chanute, Iola, Lawrence, Etc., then I have to either update the weather or go into my location properties, in order to get the correct information to display.
God's Not Dead!!
YoWindow is #1 :)

User avatar
par
Posts: 7919
Joined: Mon Sep 21, 2009 11:56 am
Name: Pasha
Location: Saint-Petersburg, Russia
Contact:

Re: Version 2.0 App and Widget...

Post by par » Mon May 14, 2018 7:12 pm

Thank you for the detailed reporting and the videos.
I have a couple of ideas what might went wrong.
I hope these issues to be resolved in the next version of YoWindow.
Get YoWindow weather app for your phone or tablet.

Image Image Image

Post Reply