Weather/Location-Update don't work

Testing the upcoming YoWindow 3
The forum will be archived after YoWindow 3 release.
Pilsi

Weather/Location-Update don't work

Post by Pilsi » Mon Feb 27, 2012 9:06 am

I'm working with b40 and the Weather- and Location-update don't work. Yowindow 2.0 works fine.
I guess it has to do with my Proxy-server which i've to use in my office. Are there anywhere options for the proxyserver?
Yowindow 3.0 works fine at home without Proxy.

User avatar
ikarus1969
Posts: 1645
Joined: Wed Nov 18, 2009 9:58 am
Location: Vienna, Austria

Re: Weather/Location-Update don't work

Post by ikarus1969 » Mon Feb 27, 2012 9:12 am

Proxy-question was asked here: http://he1.yowindow.com/forum/viewtopic ... ilit=proxy
I think you are interested in Pavels answer to that question: http://he1.yowindow.com/forum/viewtopic ... oxy#p13655

Basically it says that YoWindow relys on Proxy-settings configured in Internet-Explorer.
»Man is impressive. In a universe full of untold secrets he has invented boredom.«

User avatar
par
Posts: 7846
Joined: Mon Sep 21, 2009 11:56 am
Name: Pasha
Location: Saint-Petersburg, Russia
Contact:

Re: Weather/Location-Update don't work

Post by par » Mon Feb 27, 2012 9:13 am

YoWindow works via Internet Explorer proxy.
Try to setup IE proxy settings and let us know if it solves the problem, please.

YoWindow needs an access to *.yowindow.com servers
Get YoWindow weather app for your phone or tablet.

Image Image Image

Pilsi

Re: Weather/Location-Update don't work

Post by Pilsi » Mon Feb 27, 2012 9:39 am

As i wrote: Yowindow 2.0 works fine without problems. If i install 3.0 it doesn't work. I don't change anything at the IE-settings.
When i go back to 2.0 it works fine again.

User avatar
par
Posts: 7846
Joined: Mon Sep 21, 2009 11:56 am
Name: Pasha
Location: Saint-Petersburg, Russia
Contact:

Re: Weather/Location-Update don't work

Post by par » Mon Feb 27, 2012 9:44 am

Check your firewall.
YoWindow 3 weather servers have changed.
These are their names
desktop1.yowindow.com
desktop2.yowindow.com
Get YoWindow weather app for your phone or tablet.

Image Image Image

User avatar
ikarus1969
Posts: 1645
Joined: Wed Nov 18, 2009 9:58 am
Location: Vienna, Austria

Re: Weather/Location-Update don't work

Post by ikarus1969 » Mon Feb 27, 2012 9:45 am

Pilsi wrote:As i wrote: Yowindow 2.0 works fine without problems. If i install 3.0 it doesn't work. I don't change anything at the IE-settings.
When i go back to 2.0 it works fine again.
Forgive my little confusion: you worked with YoWindow 2.0 at work (with the proxy) and everything's fine?

Edit: Pavel was faster...
»Man is impressive. In a universe full of untold secrets he has invented boredom.«

Pilsi

Re: Weather/Location-Update don't work

Post by Pilsi » Mon Feb 27, 2012 10:20 am

Yes, 2.0 is working fine without problems (with Proxy). Added Yowindow to the firewall-exceptions=> no change.
Both Servers (desktop1 and 2) are reachable (seems to be). Ping is working and if i try to open them with IE, i get a page with the text "sb1.yowindow.com"
YWindow 3.0 b41 still don't get a locationlist..


Any others Ideas?

User avatar
par
Posts: 7846
Joined: Mon Sep 21, 2009 11:56 am
Name: Pasha
Location: Saint-Petersburg, Russia
Contact:

Re: Weather/Location-Update don't work

Post by par » Mon Feb 27, 2012 10:29 am

Can you open desktop1.yowindow.com in Internet Explorer?
[EDIT], oops, sorry I was reading your answer carelessly.

The server is correct.

I have no idea why Yo3 is not working properly.

Here's my favourite advice :(

Uinstall YoWindow 2.0
Unintsall YoWindow 3
Install b40

Run YoWindow 3 in debug mode.
C:\Program Files\YoWindow\yowindow_debugMode.bat

A second black console window will open.

Try to select location.

It does not work.

Copy all the text from the console window and send it to me - support@repkasoft.com

I will try to guess what is going on.
Get YoWindow weather app for your phone or tablet.

Image Image Image

User avatar
ikarus1969
Posts: 1645
Joined: Wed Nov 18, 2009 9:58 am
Location: Vienna, Austria

Re: Weather/Location-Update don't work

Post by ikarus1969 » Mon Feb 27, 2012 10:31 am

par wrote:Can you open desktop1.yowindow.com in Internet Explorer?
Pilsi wrote:if i try to open them with IE, i get a page with the text "sb1.yowindow.com"
:wink:
»Man is impressive. In a universe full of untold secrets he has invented boredom.«

Pilsi

Re: Weather/Location-Update don't work

Post by Pilsi » Mon Feb 27, 2012 10:37 am

I've attached a screenshot of IE and YoWindow.
The location is taken over from YoWindow 2.0 and it is not possible to get a new list.
Attachments
Yowindow4-update.jpg

Post Reply