Screensaver not working

Any questions? Any answers?
User avatar
Wally©
Posts: 819
Joined: Sun Dec 12, 2010 2:18 am
Name: Walter

Re: Screensaver not working

Post by Wally© » Thu Apr 17, 2014 2:14 pm

+ if it's not there...There is a possibility to add a new rule for the screensaver...

(On a side note...Noticed incredimail on your screenshot...With all due respect...It's CRAP !!!)
Wally©...

(Ignorance can easily be overcome...Stupidity is 4ever...)

2BadRic
Posts: 39
Joined: Sat Mar 02, 2013 6:05 pm
Name: Richard Pernicano

Re: Screensaver not working

Post by 2BadRic » Thu Apr 17, 2014 2:18 pm

Please guide me thru to get to where YO should be in AVG / windows FWall..re incrdimail...eh...it works...

User avatar
Wally©
Posts: 819
Joined: Sun Dec 12, 2010 2:18 am
Name: Walter

Re: Screensaver not working

Post by Wally© » Thu Apr 17, 2014 6:13 pm

First of all let us troubleshoot your problem further...

1. Open your AVG user interface (rightclick the symbol in your systemtray)
2. In the general settings pane doubleclick the firewall icon and disable it by checking the option down below...
3. Make sure to save the setting before exiting (ignore any warning you get...this is just temporary...)
4. Go into your Windows Firewall setting (start-configuration screen-Windows Firewall) and make sure it's disabled
5. Again save the setting by hitting 'apply'...and ignore any warning...
6. Now see if your YoWindow screensaver works normally when you set it up in the screensaver options...

Get back to us...
Wally©...

(Ignorance can easily be overcome...Stupidity is 4ever...)

2BadRic
Posts: 39
Joined: Sat Mar 02, 2013 6:05 pm
Name: Richard Pernicano

Re: Screensaver not working

Post by 2BadRic » Thu Apr 17, 2014 7:26 pm

Wally, I actually do not have AVG Firewall active, and guess never have as the pic shows..However, I deactivated windows FWall and then tried the YO SSaver...same..
Rich
Attachments
AVG.jpg

User avatar
Wally©
Posts: 819
Joined: Sun Dec 12, 2010 2:18 am
Name: Walter

Re: Screensaver not working

Post by Wally© » Thu Apr 17, 2014 7:57 pm

Well...something in your system is preventing the screensaver from accessing the internet...

Try to revert your windows to a previous date when things were normal through a system restore...
Wally©...

(Ignorance can easily be overcome...Stupidity is 4ever...)

2BadRic
Posts: 39
Joined: Sat Mar 02, 2013 6:05 pm
Name: Richard Pernicano

Re: Screensaver not working

Post by 2BadRic » Thu Apr 17, 2014 10:15 pm

good idea...
thank you

2BadRic
Posts: 39
Joined: Sat Mar 02, 2013 6:05 pm
Name: Richard Pernicano

Re: Screensaver not working

Post by 2BadRic » Thu Apr 17, 2014 11:16 pm

Wally...........restored to a month ago,,,,,,,,,,same..same.
Thank you for all your ideas...
Maybe the best is for me to delete all, and start from scratch...I may be asking for help in getting the sky out..
Thanks again to all,,
Rich P

User avatar
Wally©
Posts: 819
Joined: Sun Dec 12, 2010 2:18 am
Name: Walter

Re: Screensaver not working

Post by Wally© » Fri Apr 18, 2014 12:52 am

As a last resort I would check out my Windows Firewall...

Somewhere in its setting you should be able to add e new rule...

If you're able to find that option all you have to do is add the yowindow.scr file to the rule

and set it to 'always allow' or something to that effect...
Wally©...

(Ignorance can easily be overcome...Stupidity is 4ever...)

2BadRic
Posts: 39
Joined: Sat Mar 02, 2013 6:05 pm
Name: Richard Pernicano

Re: Screensaver not working

Post by 2BadRic » Sat Apr 19, 2014 11:17 pm

Hey Fred......... Seems that IS what I am doing,,,but.....since my last post, I have deleted YO, and then re-downloaded ...my build is 166...Wally said his was 168...
Anyway,,,now I am trying to get the sky out of a pic and having a few probs...If I put the pic up, is there a way for you or someone to get the sky out and send to me?
Thanks,
Rich

FvE
Posts: 7114
Joined: Mon Oct 19, 2009 11:56 pm
Name: Fred
Location: Leiden, Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Screensaver not working

Post by FvE » Mon Apr 21, 2014 3:01 pm

Hi Rich,

I'll be glad to help you if I can.
But does your screensaver work now that you've re-installed YoWindow?

Fred

Post Reply