Time indication

Have you found an error? Report here!
Robino

Re: Time indication

Post by Robino » Thu Mar 31, 2011 11:39 pm

Thanks Fred, but a Google search confirms to me that Antwerp now is UTC +2h (summertime).
The Windows picture you are showing probably just shows the winter time GMT situation, with the indication that it will change to summertime when required..
Or is there a difference between UTC and GMT? I am convinced not.
What I also found out is that London is now also on summertime, being GMT +1h, the so-called Big Ben time... Check Google on this
Am I becoming mad? Maybe I should be going to bed... http://yowindow.com/forum/posting.php?m ... f=3&t=2791#

FvE
Posts: 7114
Joined: Mon Oct 19, 2009 11:56 pm
Name: Fred
Location: Leiden, Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Time indication

Post by FvE » Thu Mar 31, 2011 11:41 pm

Hi Marc,

Don't worry, I DO believe you.
Please check your Windows system settings the way I asked/suggested.

Thanks for your understanding,
Fred

Robino

Re: Time indication

Post by Robino » Thu Mar 31, 2011 11:59 pm

Hi Fred,
Still struggling...
Look at my following snapshots of a few minutes ago:
1. with the Antwerp time
2. with the Windows system time
So my Windows system time is right?
No worries, the world is still turning round...
Marc
Attachments
windows time.jpg
windows time.jpg (44.68 KiB) Viewed 5350 times
Antwertp time.jpg
Antwertp time.jpg (166.69 KiB) Viewed 5350 times

FvE
Posts: 7114
Joined: Mon Oct 19, 2009 11:56 pm
Name: Fred
Location: Leiden, Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Time indication

Post by FvE » Fri Apr 01, 2011 12:08 am

Hi Marc,

I'm not familiair with your screenshot.
Is this from Windows 7?
I'm using XP.

Can you tell me wether or not you have the option: Adjust clock to summer and wintertime activated?

Fred

Robino

Re: Time indication

Post by Robino » Fri Apr 01, 2011 12:21 am

Hello again Fred,

My Windows is Vista Home Premium Service Pack 1.
I get this screen shot under "Configuration Screen + Time & Date"...
Believe this is the system time, is it?
What strikes me also is that the time being shown on these Yowindows postings is not showing my local time, but -1h instead.
It is now 01:19 AM here in Antwerp end the posting time will probably show -1h..., whereas Yowindows shows +1h
And now I am really going to hit the sack!
Greetings
Marc

Robino

Re: Time indication

Post by Robino » Fri Apr 01, 2011 12:24 am

And yes, the summer/winter time change is indeed activated!

User avatar
Don
Posts: 687
Joined: Tue Sep 14, 2010 12:14 am
Name: Don
Location: Roseville, California, United States of America

Re: Time indication

Post by Don » Fri Apr 01, 2011 4:51 am

Hi Marc,

I don't know if it will help or not but you might want to give the setting with Brussels a try.

Don
timezone.jpg
timezone.jpg (72.25 KiB) Viewed 5344 times
Just some stuff that I find useful. --> http://home.surewest.net/donjr

User avatar
ikarus1969
Posts: 1645
Joined: Wed Nov 18, 2009 9:58 am
Location: Vienna, Austria

Re: Time indication

Post by ikarus1969 » Fri Apr 01, 2011 6:43 am

Don't be confused about the time that is showing on the forum - you can set your own timezone in the "User Control Panel" / "Board Preferences" / "Edit global settings":
YoWindow - Forum Board Preferences.jpg
YoWindow - Forum Board Preferences.jpg (56.71 KiB) Viewed 5339 times
»Man is impressive. In a universe full of untold secrets he has invented boredom.«

User avatar
ikarus1969
Posts: 1645
Joined: Wed Nov 18, 2009 9:58 am
Location: Vienna, Austria

Re: Time indication

Post by ikarus1969 » Fri Apr 01, 2011 6:50 am

Robino wrote:For the non-believers, I attach herewith a snapshot of my Yowindows for Antwerp, where the actual time at the moment of the snapshot was 00:19h , being equal to the Windows sytem time visible in the lower right part of the snapshot... You can clearly see that Yowindows then shows as the time 01:19h instead of the actual and system time of 00:19h
Strange, strange ...http://yowindow.com/forum/posting.php?m ... f=3&t=2791#
Marc
On your screenshot of the YoWindow-Desktop it can be seen that you are not in "LIVE"-mode - the background of the text is grey.
Please click on it (on the text "LIVE") so that it becomes a green background and i think (i hope!) you get the correct time for your chosen location!

edit: added a screenshot of your post:
YoWindow - robino - screenshot - detail.jpg
YoWindow - robino - screenshot - detail.jpg (38.76 KiB) Viewed 5333 times
»Man is impressive. In a universe full of untold secrets he has invented boredom.«

vanpraet

Re: Time indication

Post by vanpraet » Fri Apr 01, 2011 12:07 pm

Hi all,

I came on this forum for exact the same issue Robinho experiences. I live near Brussels, so my PC is set to GMT+1 and with daylight saving time it correctly shows the GMT+2 time. But when I look in YoWindow for Brussels, it shows GMT+3 time. So there seems to be a bug somewhere in YoWindow... I'll check on my other PCs this weekend.

JVP

Post Reply