Using my own photo for a YoWindow Widget

YoWindow widget Questions, Suggestions and Bugs
Post Reply
olmsb4d2

Using my own photo for a YoWindow Widget

Post by olmsb4d2 » Thu Jun 07, 2012 7:47 pm

I've created a landscape using my own photo and would now like to use that in Widget. The instructions state that..."Put a special crossdomain.xml file in your server ROOT directory" Since I use a company called 1&1 to host my website I don't have access the ROOT directory. Is there another way to create a widget using the landscape I created?

Thanks for the help.

FvE
Posts: 7114
Joined: Mon Oct 19, 2009 11:56 pm
Name: Fred
Location: Leiden, Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Using my own photo for a YoWindow Widget

Post by FvE » Thu Jun 07, 2012 8:11 pm

Hi larry,

I've moved your question to the Widget sub forum, where it belongs.
I'm sorry that I can't help you. As far as I know this is not possible.
I'm sure someone else will answer to you soon.

Fred

User avatar
Mallorca
Posts: 1757
Joined: Sun Jul 11, 2010 8:59 am
Name: Werner Heidotting
Location: Son Servera, Mallorca, Spain
Contact:

Re: Using my own photo for a YoWindow Widget

Post by Mallorca » Fri Jun 08, 2012 12:28 am

Hi Larry,

I hosted all my personal and client websites by 1&1 Germany without any problems. It is not true that it should not possible to place the crossdomain in the main root.
Please see my website.

Werner

olmsb4d2

Re: Using my own photo for a YoWindow Widget

Post by olmsb4d2 » Fri Jun 08, 2012 3:04 pm

Hi Werner,

Great news....Where exactly can I insert the code. I have no idea where to find the root directory.

Thanks Werner

User avatar
Mallorca
Posts: 1757
Joined: Sun Jul 11, 2010 8:59 am
Name: Werner Heidotting
Location: Son Servera, Mallorca, Spain
Contact:

Re: Using my own photo for a YoWindow Widget

Post by Mallorca » Sat Jun 09, 2012 12:19 pm

Hi Larry,

easiest way is to use an ft-uploader like http://filezilla-project.org/download.php?type=client.
Then you can upload the file direct to the main root. It is the first folder below your domain.

Werner

elpasotx

Re: Using my own photo for a YoWindow Widget

Post by elpasotx » Wed Sep 19, 2012 8:50 pm

I was bothered by the same request. Since I own my server, I could actually but the XML file in the root of the server, but I think the directions are at fault as even the example doesn't show the file in the root of the server.

More accurately, I would say in the "root of the domain", or more simply, "at the top level of the domain".

I am new here, but mine seems to be working with the XML file in the domain, not in the server root.

Actually, the more I think about it, I could actually (as a user), go up one more level, above the public_html folder where the CGI scripts are normally kept. So in this case, I don't think the root of the server or the root of the domain is correct. Simply place the file at the top "public" level of your domain where the index.html would normally reside.

User avatar
par
Posts: 7788
Joined: Mon Sep 21, 2009 11:56 am
Name: Pasha
Location: Saint-Petersburg, Russia
Contact:

Re: Using my own photo for a YoWindow Widget

Post by par » Sun Sep 30, 2012 9:51 am

Thanks, I agree, I hope to update the docs soon.
Get YoWindow for your phone or tablet - it's awesome on both!

Image Image Image

SGTIT

Re: Using my own photo for a YoWindow Widget

Post by SGTIT » Sat Oct 06, 2012 9:55 pm

Hi people, I need your expert help, it looks very easy to configure the landscapes, but has not been for me :(

I have just done everything you suggest with the crossdomain.xml adding it to publichtml or my domain folder,
I am just trying to test the landscapes using the one you have on your domain (http://landscape.yowindow.com/landscape ... osseum.ywl) as you suggest on the website.

It is not working, this is the crossdomain.xml link
http://lacompraventa.net/crossdomain.xml

This is the code:

Code: Select all

<div style="width:1330px; height:700px;">
    <object type="application/x-shockwave-flash" data="http://swf.yowindow.com/yowidget3.swf" width="1330" height="700">
    	<param name="movie" value="http://swf.yowindow.com/yowidget3.swf"/>
    	<param name="allowfullscreen" value="true"/>
    	<param name="wmode" value="opaque"/>
    	<param name="bgcolor" value="#FFFFFF"/>
    	<param name="flashvars" 
    	value="location_id=gn:3511624&location_name=Bayahibe&landscape=http://landscape.yowindow.com/landscapes/colosseum/colosseum.ywl&time_format=24&unit_system=metric&background=#FFFFFF&mini_temperature=true&mini_time=true&mini_locationBar=true&mini_momentBar=true&copyright_bar=false"
    />
        <a href="http://yowindow.com/weatherwidget.php"
        style="width:1330px;height:700px;display: block;text-indent: -50000px;font-size: 0px;background:#DDF url(http://yowindow.com/img/logo.png) no-repeat scroll 50% 50%;"
        >Widget del tiempo atmosférico</a>
    </object>
</div>
<div style="width: 1330px; height: 15px; font-size: 14px; font-family: Arial,Helvetica,sans-serif;">
	<span style="float:left;"><a target="_top" href="http://yowindow.com?client=widget&link=copyright" style="color: #2fa900; font-weight:bold; text-decoration:none;" title="Widget del tiempo atmosférico">YoWindow.com</a></span>
	<span style="float:right; color:#888888;"><a href="http://yr.no" style="color: #2fa900; text-decoration:none;">yr.no</a></span>
</div>
What am I doing wrong.

Thank you for your help

Post Reply