Page 1 of 4

Widget: please update crossdomain.xml

Posted: Wed Mar 02, 2011 5:33 pm
by par
Dear friends,
this message is addressed to webmasters who have added our widget with a custom landscape or PWS data.
In order to make the widget work properly you need to update your crossdomain.xml file on the server.

Basically you need to allow access from any domain.
You need to change domain property from "*.yowindow.com" to "*"

This is how crossdomain.xml should look.

<?xml version="1.0"?>
<!DOCTYPE cross-domain-policy SYSTEM "http://www.macromedia.com/xml/dtds/cros ... policy.dtd">
<cross-domain-policy>
<allow-access-from domain="*" secure="true"/>
</cross-domain-policy>

We had to make this change because our server is overloaded with widget requests.

YoWindow widget has got very popular.
There are around 300,000 widget views per day.
You may have noticed recently that the widget was not available for some time.
This is because our server was heavily overloaded.

We had to take a decision to move the widget to a more reliable place.
The widget is not located on yowindow servers anymore.
Because of this you need to update crossdomain.xml to allow YoWindow widget to load the landscape or data from your site.

Pasha

Re: Widget: please update crossdomain.xml

Posted: Wed Mar 02, 2011 10:52 pm
by portaleazzurro
From a few hours is not received data on all the widgets I put in my blog.
This also happens with the widget without landscape customized.
're doing maintenance?

As for the file crossdomain.xml, I have to ask Herman to load it?
(Herman makes me a server for the custom landscape).

Regards.
Franco.

Re: Widget: please update crossdomain.xml

Posted: Wed Mar 02, 2011 11:39 pm
by hermanz
Franco

the file crossdomain.xml is updated

gr.
Herman :D

Re: Widget: please update crossdomain.xml

Posted: Thu Mar 03, 2011 12:01 am
by Mallorca
Hi Pasha,
I'm afraid we have a big problem :shock:
First of all I'm not very happy to get this information "by the way" ... not all widget users are looking permanent to the forum.

I changed the crossdomain exactly to your new version and the result is this:
Unbenannt.JPG
Unbenannt.JPG (29.89 KiB) Viewed 20220 times
You know, Yowindow is on the start site of my weather page and if we can not solve this problem I have to remove it :(
So please help very quickly!

Werner

Edit: on the Yowindow page you see this:
Unbenannt.JPG
Unbenannt.JPG (51.78 KiB) Viewed 20214 times

Re: Widget: please update crossdomain.xml

Posted: Thu Mar 03, 2011 5:49 am
by Tihomir Z
Hello Pavel
Here you and I tell you I had the same problem as Mallorca, I changed crossdomain as Pavel wrote. I'm sorry, and I hope that this problem will be solved. So far my YoWindow worked flawlessly.
Hello everyone Tihomir

Re: Widget: please update crossdomain.xml

Posted: Thu Mar 03, 2011 12:52 pm
by par
Hey, friends!
I have put a lot of work today in making the widget work again.
I hope now it is working properly under any conditions.
I have also added a warning message for webmasters to update the crossdomain.xml.
The message is displayed when the custom landscape is not being loaded.

Please let me know if you still experience any problems with the widget behavior.
Make sure to clean your browser cache before playing around.

Pasha

Re: Widget: please update crossdomain.xml

Posted: Thu Mar 03, 2011 2:11 pm
by ikarus1969
par wrote:Basically you need to allow access from any domain.
You need to change domain property from "*.yowindow.com" to "*"
par wrote:We had to take a decision to move the widget to a more reliable place.
If you tell us the name or the IP we would be able to only allow this reliable place to access our system.
I think to allow everyone (every flash application) to access our system or the system of our provider can cause a security-problem.

Am i too anxious? What do you think?

Re: Widget: please update crossdomain.xml

Posted: Thu Mar 03, 2011 2:34 pm
by hermanz
Hi pasha ;)

The widget works properly for me

The widget works fine from my site and the sociale network Hyves.

Reinhart has a point with the security. Everyone can now use the system of our provider as a host for the landscape and another flash applications.

gr.
Herman :D

Re: Widget: please update crossdomain.xml

Posted: Thu Mar 03, 2011 3:01 pm
by fakiris
And for me everything seem to be O.K. :D

It was 1 minute work to change the old to new crossdomain.xml file.

Thanks Pavel!!!

Re: Widget: please update crossdomain.xml

Posted: Thu Mar 03, 2011 3:16 pm
by Mallorca
Hi Pasha,

widget is now working well. :D
I agree with the concerning of Reinhart. Now we have the chance to close a security problem.

Werner