Can't get rid of "No Weather" error

YoWindow widget Questions, Suggestions and Bugs
Post Reply
elgheko
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Jul 14, 2014 7:03 pm
Name: Tom Wills

Can't get rid of "No Weather" error

Post by elgheko » Mon Jul 14, 2014 7:24 pm

I have installed the YoWindow widget into my weather website (http://www.elgheko.us) but I keep getting "No Weather" error message. I have also received the following error when trying to see how the XML file looks:

XML Parsing Error: undefined entity
Location: http://www.elgheko.us/yowindow.xml
Line Number 10, Column 9: <temperature unit="&deg;F">
--------^


My yowindow.xml which appears to me as totally correct (at least the readings are) is as follows:

<!-- your_PWS_name 14/07/2014 11:15 -->
<!-- Remove auto_update section if wanting the default, otherwise in seconds -->
<!-- Remove the uv and solar tags if not using those detectors -->
<!-- Remove snow section if not inputting snow -->
<response>
<current_weather>
<auto_update>
<interval value="120"/>
</auto_update>
<temperature unit="&deg;F">
<current value="88.6"/>
<feels_like value="88.6"/>
</temperature>
<humidity value="42"/>
<pressure value="29.890" unit="in" trend="-0.003"/>
<wind>
<speed value="2.5" unit="mph"/>
<direction value="249"/>
<gusts value="7.0" unit="mph"/>
</wind>
<sky>
<precipitation>
<rain>
<rate value="0.00" unit="in"/>
<daily_total value="0.00" unit="in"/>
</rain>
</precipitation>
</sky>
</current_weather>
</response>


My entire widget code is:

<div style="width:220px; height:150px;">
<object type="application/x-shockwave-flash" data="http://swf.yowindow.com/yowidget3.swf" width="220" height="150">
<param name="movie" value="http://swf.yowindow.com/yowidget3.swf"/>
<param name="allowfullscreen" value="true"/>
<param name="wmode" value="opaque"/>
<param name="bgcolor" value="#FFFFFF"/>
<param name="flashvars"

value="location_id=gn:5318313&current_weather_url=http://www.elgheko.us/yowindow.xml";loc ... _bar=false"/>

<a href="http://WeatherScreenSaver.com?client=wi ... =copyright"
style="width:220px;height:150px;display: block;text-indent: -50000px;font-size: 0px;background:#DDF url(http://yowindow.com/img/logo.png) no-repeat scroll 50% 50%;"
>Free Weather Widget</a>
</object>
</div>
<div style="width: 220px; height: 15px; font-size: 14px; font-family: Arial,Helvetica,sans-serif;">
<span style="float:left;"><a target="_top" href="http://WeatherScreenSaver.com?client=wi ... =copyright" style="color: #2fa900; font-weight:bold; text-decoration:none;" title="HTML weather">YoWindow.com</a></span>
<span style="float:right; color:#888888;"><a href="http://www.weather.gov" style="color: #2fa900; text-decoration:none;">NWS</a></span>
</div>


The question comes down to why the "No Weather" error?
:(

User avatar
hermanz
Posts: 1886
Joined: Thu Apr 08, 2010 3:21 pm
Name: Herman
Location: Nieuwegein, Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Can't get rid of "No Weather" error

Post by hermanz » Mon Jul 14, 2014 8:44 pm

Hi Tom :good:

Welcome to YoWindow

1): change in yowindow.xml
<temperature unit="deg;F">

2): In the widget code:
value="location_id=gn:5318313&current_weather_url=http://www.elgheko.us/yowindow.xml";loc ... o,%20Tucso
add after every parameter &.

3):Otherwise send me the whole widget code.

gr.
herman :beer:
(Wheather on an I(phone,pad,pod) or Android, YoWindow what else )

elgheko
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Jul 14, 2014 7:03 pm
Name: Tom Wills

Re: Can't get rid of "No Weather" error

Post by elgheko » Mon Jul 14, 2014 9:30 pm

hermanz wrote:Hi Tom :good:

Welcome to YoWindow

1): change in yowindow.xml
<temperature unit="deg;F">

2): In the widget code:
value="location_id=gn:5318313&current_weather_url=http://www.elgheko.us/yowindow.xml";loc ... o,%20Tucso
add after every parameter &.

3):Otherwise send me the whole widget code.

gr.
herman :beer:
The entire widget code is in my original message. :wink:

Tom

elgheko
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Jul 14, 2014 7:03 pm
Name: Tom Wills

Re: Can't get rid of "No Weather" error

Post by elgheko » Tue Jul 15, 2014 5:47 am

Herman,

An acquaintance of mine in another state asked me about something called cross domain. I have no idea of what he is asking me. :shock:

Could that be a problem. Now to figure out what on earth a cross domain is. :%)

I used the example of the crossdomain.xml and now it works fine. I thought the example was just that and I had to do more to it. I'm still confused about it, but now it works, so I guess it's a "don't look a gift horse in the mouth" type of situation. :beer: Thanks for the help. <hic..>

Tom

User avatar
hermanz
Posts: 1886
Joined: Thu Apr 08, 2010 3:21 pm
Name: Herman
Location: Nieuwegein, Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Can't get rid of "No Weather" error

Post by hermanz » Tue Jul 15, 2014 7:40 pm

Tom :good:

That is good news
Succes with your site

gr.
Herman :beer:
(Wheather on an I(phone,pad,pod) or Android, YoWindow what else )

Post Reply