Wrong location and landscape

YoWindow widget Questions, Suggestions and Bugs
Post Reply
Steven
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Mar 29, 2014 3:08 pm
Name: Steven

Wrong location and landscape

Post by Steven » Sat Mar 29, 2014 3:26 pm

I love YoWindow and have used it on my blog for years. Recently the HTML code copied from YoWindow has not been reflecting the settings I chose. When published on my site the landscape image reverts to the village graphic instead of the seaside graphic, yet the HTML code reads it's set for seaside. It's also doing the same thing for my location. I have it set for Las Vegas, yet the published location reads Summerlin South. I have tried re-copying the HTML code from YoWindow many times and the result is always the same. Any suggestions on how to fix this?

User avatar
countryroads
Posts: 8782
Joined: Tue Apr 27, 2010 3:38 am
Name: Marty
Location: Mansfield, Ohio USA
Contact:

Re: Wrong location and landscape

Post by countryroads » Sat Mar 29, 2014 5:36 pm

Hi Steven,

Welcome to YoWindow.

Please give us a link to you site so we can check it out.
Thank you in advance.

Marty

Steven
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Mar 29, 2014 3:08 pm
Name: Steven

Re: Wrong location and landscape

Post by Steven » Sat Mar 29, 2014 6:19 pm

Here's the link, http://stevengoth.com/weather/ The problem seems to be in the HTML code because I cannot change the location or the landscape, even though the HTML code reads those areas are correct.

User avatar
countryroads
Posts: 8782
Joined: Tue Apr 27, 2010 3:38 am
Name: Marty
Location: Mansfield, Ohio USA
Contact:

Re: Wrong location and landscape

Post by countryroads » Sat Mar 29, 2014 6:59 pm

Hi Steven,

You have added line breaks where there should not be any.
See this example. <param name="flashvars"<br />

The line breaks are causing the flashvars not to work.
Right now, it is working like an ip locator.
Your page is displaying New York City for me.

The code supplied by YoWindow is what should be used.

I hope this information helps you.

Marty

Steven
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Mar 29, 2014 3:08 pm
Name: Steven

Re: Wrong location and landscape

Post by Steven » Sun Mar 30, 2014 2:20 am

Thanks for helping Marty, but I copied the HTML directly from YoWindow. I copied the HTML from #8 where is says "Copy and paste the following HTML code inside your page or blog." I have not changed anything as the HTML on my page reads exactly the same as the HTML on your site. Could something be interfering, somehow?

User avatar
countryroads
Posts: 8782
Joined: Tue Apr 27, 2010 3:38 am
Name: Marty
Location: Mansfield, Ohio USA
Contact:

Re: Wrong location and landscape

Post by countryroads » Sun Mar 30, 2014 2:48 am

Hi Steven,

While you are looking at your site, view your source code.
When you view it, you will see something like the attached.
Check out all of those Line Breaks.
They should not be there and are causing YoWindow Widget not to work properly.

The html code supplied by YoWindow is not the problem.
Whoever is hosting your site is putting in Line Breaks.
You need to check with them and find out how to stop them from doing that.

Let us know how you resolve this problem.

Marty
YoWidget check out all of these Line Breaks.JPG

Steven
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Mar 29, 2014 3:08 pm
Name: Steven

Re: Wrong location and landscape

Post by Steven » Sun Mar 30, 2014 2:59 pm

Thank you!! As it turns out there is a setting in my wordpress theme that Allows Raw HTML and scripts on a per page basis. Once that box was checked YoWindow worked correctly again. I never would have figure that out without your help.

Post Reply