Page 3 of 5

Re: Live Sky tutorial feedback

Posted: Fri Jul 09, 2010 6:40 pm
by par
Hey, Alex!
Show us the .ywl file.
Have you put horizon-line properly?

The image is good!
Make sure you have added .ywl file inside YoWindow, but not .png

Re: Live Sky tutorial feedback

Posted: Sat Jul 10, 2010 12:43 pm
by chucky
uff I've ever seen anything yet :(

Re: Live Sky tutorial feedback

Posted: Sat Jul 10, 2010 3:16 pm
by alex
Perfect - it works now. I had to change the horizon and change the yowindow - ywl configuration, as you suggested.
Image1.jpg
Image1.jpg (32.03 KiB) Viewed 6542 times
My next question is - if I upload this to a remote host, can I get it to appear in the widget on my blog??

Alex

Re: Live Sky tutorial feedback

Posted: Sat Jul 10, 2010 3:38 pm
by par
Yes, but please wait a couple of days. I need time to prepare a tutorial and to watch the World Cup final.

Re: Live Sky tutorial feedback

Posted: Sat Jul 10, 2010 3:52 pm
by alex
BRILLIANT - thanks for all your help.

Re: Live Sky tutorial feedback

Posted: Sat Jul 10, 2010 11:12 pm
by jmcmurry
Pasha,

Right after you mention the PhotoShop video in Step 2 of the tutorial, you could consider adding something like this for Gimp.

Removing Sky With Gimp

If the file is not a .png image, save it as one.
Click Layer-Transparency-Add Alpha Channel.
Select an area on the image to make transparent with one of the "select" tools.
Press the delete key on your computer and the area will go transparent.
Repeat until all of the sky is gone.
Save the image.

Tips:
If you're going to re-size the image, do that first.
You can select large areas of the sky with the rectangle select tool then fine tune with the others later.
Photos with at least half sky are the best.

- Jim

Re: Live Sky tutorial feedback

Posted: Sun Jul 11, 2010 4:46 pm
by tph06784
I have gotten the widget to work. See here http://www.shermanctweather.com It'as a picture of a farm our town just bought to preserve as farmland.

Re: Live Sky tutorial feedback

Posted: Mon Jul 12, 2010 10:52 pm
by alex
tph06784 wrote:I have gotten the widget to work. See here http://www.shermanctweather.com It'as a picture of a farm our town just bought to preserve as farmland.
Impressive ... but how?

Re: Live Sky tutorial feedback

Posted: Tue Jul 13, 2010 3:18 am
by tph06784
I included a php file.
Here is the code for the file:

Code: Select all

<object type="application/x-shockwave-flash" data="http://swf.yowindow.com/wimo/hpPal/hpPal.swf" width="180" height="103">
    	<param name="movie" value="http://swf.yowindow.com/wimo/hpPal/hpPal.swf"/>
    	<param name="allowfullscreen" value="true"/>
    	<param name="wmode" value="opaque"/>
    	<param name="bgcolor" value="#FFFFFF"/>
    	<param name="flashvars" 
    	value="location_id=gn:4842937&current_weather_url=http://www.shermanctweather.com/yowindow.xml&landscape=http://www.shermanctweather.com/happyacres1a.ywl&time_format=12&unit_system=us&background=#FFFFFF&mini_temperature=false&mini_time=false&mini_locationBar=false&mini_momentBar=false&copyright_bar=false"
    />
        <a href="http://yowindow.com?client=widget&link=stub"
        style="width:640px;height:200px;display: block;text-indent: -50000px;font-size: 0px;-moz-background-clip:border;-moz-background-inline-policy:continuous;-moz-background-origin:padding;background:#DDF url(http://yowindow.com/img/logo.png) no-repeat scroll 50% 50%;"
        >Desktop weather</a>
    </object>

Re: Live Sky tutorial feedback; widget worries

Posted: Tue Jul 13, 2010 7:36 pm
by alex
I am using Blogger, so I have written an iframe which points to the php code you sent. So far so good.
In fact, using your code exactly I managed to get a nice picture of your farm, with live sky, into my blog.

However, when I substitute my url for yours, my png doesn't appear, only the live sky (with the sun in a suspiciously wrong position). Any ideas what might be wrong? I'm assuming the original png (2880 pixels wide) and the original horizon setting (2000 px) will all be scaled down for the widget, and I have put in the height and width parameters I want, but maybe there's something else I'm doing wrong?

With many thanks for anticipated assistance

Alex