Having problem with custom landscape

Feature discussion
Registered users do not see the advertisments

Having problem with custom landscape

Postby MarionfromAlger » Mon Dec 05, 2011 6:32 pm

Registered users do not see the advertisments
Hi:

Followed directions to a tee regarding creating a custom landscape, but still having difficulties. Will someone look at my homepage and tell me where I may have gone wrong?

http://www.algermichigan.com

It works perfect on the desktop rendition using my own landscape, so it must be a server side problem, because I'm only seeing "weather" on the web page, but not the landscape image itself.

I did upload the landscapes folder with the ywl and png files. I also uploaded the xml file to the home (base) directory on my own server, but I believe that may be where the problem lies.

The directions give the base configuration file, however it fails to mention what url should be placed within that file. Was I right to place yowindow as the variable? Here's the code:

<?xml version="1.0"?>
<!DOCTYPE cross-domain-policy SYSTEM "http://www.macromedia.com/xml/dtds/cross-domain-policy.dtd">
<cross-domain-policy>
<allow-access-from domain="yowindow.com" secure="true"/>
</cross-domain-policy>


Here's the code for my webpage widget:

<object type="application/x-shockwave-flash" data="http://swf.yowindow.com/yowidget3.swf" width="600" height="400">
<param name="movie" value="http://swf.yowindow.com/yowidget3.swf"/>
<param name="allowfullscreen" value="true"/>
<param name="wmode" value="opaque"/>
<param name="bgcolor" value="#FFFFFF"/>
<param name="flashvars"
value="location_id=gn:5001929&amp;location_name=Alger&amp;time_format=12&amp;unit_system=us&amp;background=#FFFFFF&amp;amp;mini_momentBar=false&amp;copyright_bar=false&amp;landscape=http://www.algermichigancom/landscapes/landscapes.ywl"
/>
<a href="http://yowindow.com/weatherwidget.php"
style="width:400px;height:150px;display: block;text-indent: -50000px;font-size: 0px;background:#DDF url(http://yowindow.com/img/logo.png) no-repeat scroll 50% 50%;"
>Weather Widget</a>
</object>

Could the problem lie with the ywl file? Maybe it's pointing to the wrong png file?

Thanks in advance. This is driving me crazy!!! :%)


Adding comment...

I just noticed (didn't notice last night) that the image isn't rendering correctly in the desktop yowindow. The "weather" is only displaying in the top 1/4 of my sky, not the entire sky. Could my image size be incorrect? What the minimal height for an image?




Share |
Last edited by MarionfromAlger on Mon Dec 05, 2011 7:08 pm, edited 1 time in total.

YoWindow - weather widget, weather screensaver, desktop weather
MarionfromAlger
 
Registered users do not see the advertisments




Registered users do not see the advertisments

Re: Having problem with custom landscape

Postby ikarus1969 » Mon Dec 05, 2011 7:05 pm

MarionfromAlger wrote:<?xml version="1.0"?>
<!DOCTYPE cross-domain-policy SYSTEM "http://www.macromedia.com/xml/dtds/cross-domain-policy.dtd">
<cross-domain-policy>
<allow-access-from domain="yowindow.com" secure="true"/>
</cross-domain-policy>

please change the domain(s) (!) to what Pavel wrote in this post


MarionfromAlger wrote:Here's the code for my webpage widget:

<object type="application/x-shockwave-flash" data="http://swf.yowindow.com/yowidget3.swf" width="600" height="400">
<param name="movie" value="http://swf.yowindow.com/yowidget3.swf"/>
<param name="allowfullscreen" value="true"/>
<param name="wmode" value="opaque"/>
<param name="bgcolor" value="#FFFFFF"/>
<param name="flashvars"
value="location_id=gn:5001929&amp;location_name=Alger&amp;time_format=12&amp;unit_system=us&amp;background=#FFFFFF&amp;amp;mini_momentBar=false&amp;copyright_bar=false&amp;landscape=http://www.algermichigancom/landscapes/landscapes.ywl"
/>
<a href="http://yowindow.com/weatherwidget.php"
style="width:400px;height:150px;display: block;text-indent: -50000px;font-size: 0px;background:#DDF url(http://yowindow.com/img/logo.png) no-repeat scroll 50% 50%;"
>Weather Widget</a>
</object>

Could the problem lie with the ywl file?

Without a guarantee that this helps, but:
i can't locate the ywl-file based on the code above. The link http://www.algermichigancom/landscapes/landscapes.ywl doesn't point to a ywl-file. Even if i insert a "." (dot) between "algermichigan" and "com" it doesn't point to a ywl-file.
Please change this url to the place where the ywl-file is located and take care not to make any mistakes in writing.

Another error in writing: look for "&amp;amp;" in the html-code above (before "mini_momentBar"); this should be "&amp;" only.

Would you try that and tell us if it helps?



Share |
»Man is impressive. In a universe full of untold secrets he has invented boredom.«
User avatar
ikarus1969
 
Posts: 1645
Joined: Wed Nov 18, 2009 9:58 am
Location: Vienna, Austria
Registered users do not see the advertisments





Re: Having problem with custom landscape

Postby MarionfromAlger » Mon Dec 05, 2011 7:09 pm

Thanks, I will go back in and try your suggestions in a couple of minutes. Appreciate your help.



Share |
MarionfromAlger
 
Registered users do not see the advertisments





Re: Having problem with custom landscape

Postby MarionfromAlger » Mon Dec 05, 2011 7:24 pm

I corrected the coding mistakes, but to no avail. The widget is actually loading faster (like immediately). Before it was taking several seconds to load, so it did SOMETHING!

The folder is correct though. I went into the server and there is a www.algermichigan.com/landscapes/landscapes.ywl folder and file. Hmmm....

Could you tell me what the optimal size is for a landscape photo, for I just now noticed on my desktop app, that the "weather" is only occurring in the upper about a quarter) of my sky, not the entire thing. Tried fooling with the horizon and it doesn't help.

Should I simply start all over and see if that fixes everything?



Share |
MarionfromAlger
 
Registered users do not see the advertisments





Re: Having problem with custom landscape

Postby MarionfromAlger » Mon Dec 05, 2011 7:32 pm

I also changed the xml code to:

<?xml version="1.0"?>
<!DOCTYPE cross-domain-policy SYSTEM "http://www.macromedia.com/xml/dtds/cross-domain-policy.dtd">
<cross-domain-policy>
<allow-access-from domain="*.yowindow.com" secure="true"/>
<allow-access-from domain="*.gmodules.com" secure="true"/>
</cross-domain-policy>

No luck!



Share |
MarionfromAlger
 
Registered users do not see the advertisments





Re: Having problem with custom landscape

Postby MarionfromAlger » Mon Dec 05, 2011 7:34 pm

I am thinking of simply using one of the provided images from YoWindow, for this is proving to be a real pain. Maybe I will try again in the near future....



Share |
MarionfromAlger
 
Registered users do not see the advertisments





Re: Having problem with custom landscape

Postby MarionfromAlger » Mon Dec 05, 2011 7:43 pm

I will try it again in the near future. Right now I just went back to the village scene. Sigh!

I do appreciate your help. I just have so much other stuff I need to be doing and realized I don't want to spend hours on this one little thing.

:Yahoo!:



Share |
MarionfromAlger
 
Registered users do not see the advertisments





Re: Having problem with custom landscape

Postby ikarus1969 » Mon Dec 05, 2011 7:43 pm

MarionfromAlger wrote:The folder is correct though. I went into the server and there is a http://www.algermichigan.com/landscapes/landscapes.ywl folder and file. Hmmm....

Now it's me to say a "Hmmm...." - did you try to enter that in a browser? I'm getting this:

YoWindow - algermichigan.jpg
YoWindow - algermichigan.jpg (84.14 KiB) Viewed 10585 times


MarionfromAlger wrote:Could you tell me what the optimal size is for a landscape photo, for I just now noticed on my desktop app, that the "weather" is only occurring in the upper about a quarter) of my sky, not the entire thing. Tried fooling with the horizon and it doesn't help.

In my opinion there's no such thing like an "optimal size" for a landscape photo. For my personal landscapes i try to resize my photos to match the aspect ratio of my screen. If you mean the size on the computer, i don't care much if it has a couple of kilobytes or if it's 5 megabytes. I don't have a website where i publish a YoWindow widget. You can convert a landscape photo from the png-format to a flash-file which will use much less space on the computer and will take less time to load for the visitors of your website. A search in the forum will get results or wait a few minutes until i have found the posts :wink:

The horizon-line should exactly be where the horizon on your photo is. I admit i don't know how it is possible to "play around" with that. I mean there's only one horizon an a landscape picture. Image a line where there's not a single pixel of sky if you go from the left to the right. That's the horizon-line - set it to this level and it's ok.

MarionfromAlger wrote:Should I simply start all over and see if that fixes everything?

I don't know what you mean with "start all over". If you don't mind let us try to fix the ywl-file thing. please try to enter the location in a browser as i suggested above. Do you gvet the same error as me or do you see the contents of the ywl-file?

If you see the contents of the ywl-file would you post it here please?



Share |
»Man is impressive. In a universe full of untold secrets he has invented boredom.«
User avatar
ikarus1969
 
Posts: 1645
Joined: Wed Nov 18, 2009 9:58 am
Location: Vienna, Austria
Registered users do not see the advertisments





Re: Having problem with custom landscape

Postby ikarus1969 » Mon Dec 05, 2011 7:47 pm

MarionfromAlger wrote:I will try it again in the near future. Right now I just went back to the village scene. Sigh!

I do appreciate your help. I just have so much other stuff I need to be doing and realized I don't want to spend hours on this one little thing.

:Yahoo!:

That's ok of course. Try it again when you have some more time - just post again when you're ready :)

regards from Vienna



Share |
»Man is impressive. In a universe full of untold secrets he has invented boredom.«
User avatar
ikarus1969
 
Posts: 1645
Joined: Wed Nov 18, 2009 9:58 am
Location: Vienna, Austria
Registered users do not see the advertisments





Re: Having problem with custom landscape

Postby MarionfromAlger » Mon Dec 05, 2011 11:11 pm

Interesting. You peeked my interest again.

I did type in the exact URL and came up with the same 404 error. However, when I tried typing this in, the server displays the file!

http://www.algermichigan.com/landscapes/yo_RauRoad.png

So the folder does exist. Hmmmm....

But that got me to thinking, and logic would dictate that my server does not recognize the ".ywl" extension, so I could go into the server and add ".ywl" as a mime type. What do you think. Sounds logical to me. Can't hurt! :)



Share |
MarionfromAlger
 
Registered users do not see the advertisments





Next

Return to Turning Picture into Landscape

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

Registered users do not see the advertisments