Own picture in website widget

Feature discussion
User avatar
par
Posts: 7919
Joined: Mon Sep 21, 2009 11:56 am
Name: Pasha
Location: Saint-Petersburg, Russia
Contact:

Re: Own picture in website widget

Post by par » Wed Sep 15, 2010 8:01 pm

2. This is an example contents of .ywl file
<landscape name="London" type="picture" id="com.yowindow.london">
<data src="big_ben.png" horizonLevel="1000">
</data>
</landscape>

See the "src" attribute in this case is set to "big_ben.png"
You need to make sure that in your .ywl file the src attribute is set to "yo_kdcasa_nosky.png"


3. I'm sorry for confusing you, yes I meant .ywl
Get YoWindow weather app for your phone or tablet.

Image Image Image

keithfdean
Posts: 13
Joined: Wed Sep 08, 2010 1:18 pm
Name: Keith Dean

Re: Own picture in website widget

Post by keithfdean » Mon Sep 20, 2010 3:23 pm

Hi Par
I am still trying to resolve this problem of the non-appearing landscape.
I have been through the image process again, and I have created my image file in a new file (kdcasaimage)
The landscape works fine in my Windows screensaver, and also on my Mac.
I have checked the src as you suggested. It all looks OK. The file (kdcasaimage.ywl) contains the following . . .
//////////////////////
<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?>
<landscape name="kdcasaimage" type="picture" id="kdcasaimage_12B11C622BD">
<data horizonLevel="777" src="yo_kdcasaimage.png">
</data>
</landscape>
//////////////////////
I have placed in the website the crossdomain.xml file
I have copied over the kdcasaimage folder, containing the following files . . . .
kdcasaimage.ywl
Thumbs.db
Thumbs.db/encryptable/$DATA
yo_kdcasaimage.png

I have inserted the parameter flashvars into my website folder containing the following . . . .
<param name="flashvars"
value="location_id=gn:3177090&time_format=24&unit_system=metric&background=#FFFFFF&mini_momentBar=false&copyright_bar=false&landscape=http://www.casadiantonio.com/kdcasaimag ... aimage.ywl"/>

In my website widget I get the weather, but no landscape.

Please advise

User avatar
hermanz
Posts: 1883
Joined: Thu Apr 08, 2010 3:21 pm
Name: Herman
Location: Nieuwegein, Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Own picture in website widget

Post by hermanz » Mon Sep 20, 2010 7:08 pm

Hi Keith


After studying your website i cannot discover the crossdomain.xml . This have you placed in the root.
Neither yo_kdcasaimage.ywl and the directory casadiantonio.com/kdcasaimage can i find.
Where have you placed them ??
gr.
Herman :D
(Wheather on an I(phone,pad,pod) or Android, YoWindow what else )

keithfdean
Posts: 13
Joined: Wed Sep 08, 2010 1:18 pm
Name: Keith Dean

Re: Own picture in website widget

Post by keithfdean » Tue Sep 21, 2010 12:21 pm

Hi Herman.
I have been experimenting by trying these files in various places in my site.
Please have another look.
My site looks like this to me . . . .
ftp://ftp.casadiantonio.com//_blank.gif
ftp://ftp.casadiantonio.com//_siteinfo
ftp://ftp.casadiantonio.com//crossdomain.xml
ftp://ftp.casadiantonio.com//css
ftp://ftp.casadiantonio.com//htdocs
ftp://ftp.casadiantonio.com//kdcasaimage
ftp://ftp.casadiantonio.com//logfiles
ftp://ftp.casadiantonio.com//pngbehavior.htc
ftp://ftp.casadiantonio.com//private
If you email me at kdean@kdean.co.uk I will send you the ftp password etc so that you can see exactly what I have done.
As I said to Par, I am sure that the problem lies with my lack of knowledge. If you can resolve this for me it will help you to resolve it for other idiots in the future! :D
Thanks
Keith

User avatar
hermanz
Posts: 1883
Joined: Thu Apr 08, 2010 3:21 pm
Name: Herman
Location: Nieuwegein, Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Own picture in website widget

Post by hermanz » Tue Sep 21, 2010 8:29 pm

Hi Keith

Your landscape is working.

If you look with ftp to your site , you see a directory htdocs or httpdocs .
This is the beginning of your website. Named the root.
The root of a ftp site is not the same as the root of your website.

I have place physically crossdomain.xml and the directory kdcasaimage in ftp.casadiantonio.com/htdocs.

You can see now the image at http://www.casadiantonio.com/kdcasaimag ... aimage.png

gr.
Herman :D
(Wheather on an I(phone,pad,pod) or Android, YoWindow what else )

keithfdean
Posts: 13
Joined: Wed Sep 08, 2010 1:18 pm
Name: Keith Dean

Re: Own picture in website widget

Post by keithfdean » Wed Sep 22, 2010 10:20 am

Many thanks to you Herman and Par for sorting my problem.
As I suspected, the problem was caused by my lack of knowledge!
I will now (after a short break) look at converting the landscape to swf
Many thanks
Keith

Post Reply