Yowindow for Current Conditions Icon (attempting)

CNYWeather
Posts: 34
Joined: Wed Oct 14, 2009 5:25 pm

Yowindow for Current Conditions Icon (attempting)

Post by CNYWeather »

I've been messing around trying to get Yowindow to display as my current condition icon.
Made some headway but I'm stuck. If anyone would like to give me some direction, it would be appreciated.

Ok so I've got WD uploading my current conditions and that works great
I have the icon for the dashboard
see here: http://www.cnyweather.com/index.php


Here's the code I'm using

Code: Select all

<object type="application/x-shockwave-flash" data="http://swf.yowindow.com/wimo/hpPal/hpPal.swf" width="130" height="130">
	<param name="movie" value="http://swf.yowindow.com/wimo/hpPal/hpPal.swf"/>
	<param name="allowfullscreen" value="true"/>
	<param name="wmode" value="opaque"/>
	<param name="bgcolor" value="#FFFFFF"/>
	<param name="flashvars" 
value="location_id=5134295&current_weather_url=http://cnyweather.com/yowindow-xml.php;&time_format=12&unit_system=us&background=#FFFFFF&mini_temperature=false&mini_time=false&mini_locationBar=false&mini_momentBar=false"/>
    Weather widget requires the free Adoble Flash Player which you can <a href="http://get.adobe.com/flashplayer/">download here</a>.
</object>


Tony
Last edited by CNYWeather on Sat Mar 19, 2011 12:50 pm, edited 2 times in total.
jmcmurry
Posts: 368
Joined: Tue Oct 13, 2009 11:09 am
Name: Jim
Location: Mauston, WI, USA
Contact:

Re: Yowindow for Current Conditions Icon (attempting)

Post by jmcmurry »

Tony,

I think it might be because you have a wayward semi-colon at the end of your url.

- Jim
CNYWeather
Posts: 34
Joined: Wed Oct 14, 2009 5:25 pm

Re: Yowindow for Current Conditions Icon (attempting)

Post by CNYWeather »

I got that Jim. Thanks but still showing Rome, NY metar.

I've tried getting rid of the location ID also, but that leads to it showing NYC metar.
jmcmurry
Posts: 368
Joined: Tue Oct 13, 2009 11:09 am
Name: Jim
Location: Mauston, WI, USA
Contact:

Re: Yowindow for Current Conditions Icon (attempting)

Post by jmcmurry »

Tony,

I compared with mine and they look the same except for a line break after <param name="flashvars" but I don't think that's the problem since you are getting your Rome NY METAR. Here's mine, why don't you try that with your width & height settings and see what happens.

Code: Select all

<object type="application/x-shockwave-flash" data="http://swf.yowindow.com/wimo/hpPal/hpPal.swf" height="167" width="200" id="yoflash">
<param name="movie" value="http://swf.yowindow.com/wimo/hpPal/hpPal.swf" />
<param name="allowfullscreen" value="true" />
<param name="wmode" value="opaque" />
<param name="bgcolor" value="#FFFFFF" />
<param name="flashvars" value="location_id=gn:5262113&location_name=Mauston&current_weather_url=http://jcweather.us/yowindow-xml.php&time_format=12&unit_system=us&background=#FFFFFF&mini_temperature=false&mini_time=false&mini_locationBar=false&mini_momentBar=false" />
<div><br/>This requires<br/>Adobe Flash Player<br/><a href="http://get.adobe.com/flashplayer/" style="color: blue;" target="_blank"><b>Download Here</b></a></div>
</object>
- Jim
CNYWeather
Posts: 34
Joined: Wed Oct 14, 2009 5:25 pm

Re: Yowindow for Current Conditions Icon (attempting)

Post by CNYWeather »

Think I've got it now

Code: Select all

<object type="application/x-shockwave-flash" data="http://swf.yowindow.com/wimo/hpPal/hpPal.swf" width="130" height="130">
	<param name="movie" value="http://swf.yowindow.com/wimo/hpPal/hpPal.swf"/>
	<param name="allowfullscreen" value="true"/>
	<param name="wmode" value="opaque"/>
	<param name="bgcolor" value="#FFFFFF"/>
	<param name="flashvars" 
value="location_id=gn:5134295&current_weather_url=http://cnyweather.com/yowindow-xml.php&time_format=12&unit_system=us&background=#FFFFFF&mini_temperature=false&mini_time=false&mini_locationBar=false&mini_momentBar=false"/>
    Weather widget requires the free Adoble Flash Player which you can <a href="http://get.adobe.com/flashplayer/">download here</a>.
</object>
jmcmurry
Posts: 368
Joined: Tue Oct 13, 2009 11:09 am
Name: Jim
Location: Mauston, WI, USA
Contact:

Re: Yowindow for Current Conditions Icon (attempting)

Post by jmcmurry »

Good deal Tony.

- Jim
Snowbie

Re: Yowindow for Current Conditions Icon (attempting)

Post by Snowbie »

Hi lads, I'm testing out atm.

I have used your code above and have gotten somewhere.

The confusing part.
I have used my location_id=gn:2962361 as the town closest to me but have just renamed it to my site 'Killucan' like Jim's code above.
Is this displaying my current conditions from my site or the location id closest me?
How do I get a location id for my sites location?

My conditions are displaying correct here
http://www.irlweather.com/yowindowxml.php

Also when closing "flashvars" using /> , New York city appears?

the code I'm using not too dissimilar from Jim

Code: Select all

	<object type="application/x-shockwave-flash" 

data="http://swf.yowindow.com/wimo/hpPal/hpPal.swf" height="167" width="200" id="yoflash">
<param name="movie" value="http://swf.yowindow.com/wimo/hpPal/hpPal.swf" />
<param name="allowfullscreen" value="true" />
<param name="wmode" value="opaque" />
<param name="bgcolor" value="#FFFFFF" />
<param name="flashvars"  

value="location_id=gn:2962361&location_name=Killucan&current_weather_url=http://www.irlweather.com/yo

windowxml.php&time_format=12&unit_system=metric&background=#FFFFFF&mini_temperature=false

&mini_time=false&mini_locationBar=false&mini_momentBar=false" />
<div><br/>This requires<br/>Adobe Flash Player<br/><a href="http://get.adobe.com/flashplayer/" style="color: blue;" 

target="_blank"><b>Download Here</b></a></div>
</object>
jmcmurry
Posts: 368
Joined: Tue Oct 13, 2009 11:09 am
Name: Jim
Location: Mauston, WI, USA
Contact:

Re: Yowindow for Current Conditions Icon (attempting)

Post by jmcmurry »

Hi,

Elsewhere in this forum you can request a location for Killucan, but I think this should work for you anyway. Try removing the line breaks between your flashvars so it's more like

Code: Select all

<param name="flashvars" value="location_id=gn:2962361&location_name=Killucan&current_weather_url=http://www.irlweather.com/yowindowxml.php&time_format=12&&mp;unit_system=metric&background=#FFFFFF&mini_temperature=false&mini_time=false&mini_locationBar=false&mini_momentBar=false" />
because that is probably breaking it. See where this way it's now closed at the very end?

- Jim
Snowbie

Re: Yowindow for Current Conditions Icon (attempting)

Post by Snowbie »

Hi Jim,

I done that now but it is showing values in us instead of metric now even though unit_system=metric is within the line?

Karl.

Code: Select all

		<object type="application/x-shockwave-flash" 

data="http://swf.yowindow.com/wimo/hpPal/hpPal.swf" height="167" width="200" id="yoflash">
<param name="movie" value="http://swf.yowindow.com/wimo/hpPal/hpPal.swf" />
<param name="allowfullscreen" value="true" />
<param name="wmode" value="opaque" />
<param name="bgcolor" value="#FFFFFF" />
<param name="flashvars" 
value="location_id=gn:2962361&location_name=Killucan&current_weather_url=http://www.irlweather.com/yo
windowxml.php&time_format=12&&mp;unit_system=metric&background=#FFFFFF&mini_temperature
=false&mini_time=false&mini_locationBar=false&mini_momentBar=false" />
<div><br/>This requires<br/>Adobe Flash Player<br/><a href="http://get.adobe.com/flashplayer/" style="color: blue;" 
target="_blank"><b>Download Here</b></a></div>
</object>
User avatar
par
Posts: 8627
Joined: Mon Sep 21, 2009 11:56 am
Name: Pasha
Location: Saint-Petersburg, Russia
Contact:

Re: Yowindow for Current Conditions Icon (attempting)

Post by par »

time_format=12&&mp;
Get YoWindow weather app for your phone or tablet.

Image Image Image
Post Reply