When to show snow

Post Reply
CNYWeather
Posts: 34
Joined: Wed Oct 14, 2009 5:25 pm

When to show snow

Post by CNYWeather » Wed Dec 01, 2010 8:26 pm

What is the trigger for YoWindow to show snow falling vs. rain.

I'm at 33 degrees and precip is falling and the widget is
showing rain instead of snow. I've seen snow on it before.

Thanks!
Tony

CNYWeather
Posts: 34
Joined: Wed Oct 14, 2009 5:25 pm

Re: When to show snow

Post by CNYWeather » Mon Dec 06, 2010 6:59 pm

Anyone? It was 22 degrees and showing rain in the widget this morning. :(

jmcmurry
Posts: 367
Joined: Tue Oct 13, 2009 11:09 am
Name: Jim
Location: Mauston, WI, USA
Contact:

Re: When to show snow

Post by jmcmurry » Mon Dec 06, 2010 11:44 pm

Tony,

Is that using the weather from the PHP script? If so, that would be an issue there with either the script or WD data I think. If not, then it would be what the Metar is reporting. I've been messing with the script some more the last couple days.

- Jim

CNYWeather
Posts: 34
Joined: Wed Oct 14, 2009 5:25 pm

Re: When to show snow

Post by CNYWeather » Tue Dec 07, 2010 6:53 pm

Thank you Jim.

I (believe if I have it set right) that I'm using the Use Metar at night in WD.

Last night I checked the local metar and it was reporting Light Snow. If I click on the
widget I've got on my site, the full screen view would show light snow for the metar on the widget and just cloudy on YoWindow.

I did also notice, when the widget on my site first loads, you'll see some snowflakes then it goes just cloudy


THANKS,
Tony

jmcmurry
Posts: 367
Joined: Tue Oct 13, 2009 11:09 am
Name: Jim
Location: Mauston, WI, USA
Contact:

Re: When to show snow

Post by jmcmurry » Tue Dec 07, 2010 9:36 pm

Tony,

I agree about the lack of snow through WD and have a question in to Brian about it. Nothing I tried the other day would get a snow icon to show, therefore the script couldn't tell YoWindow about the snow. I temporarily disabled the snow rate in the script so that YoWindow would use the METAR info.

I too see the initial snowflakes in YoWindow and I think it's from the METAR until it has loaded up the PWS info from the script.

- Jim

CNYWeather
Posts: 34
Joined: Wed Oct 14, 2009 5:25 pm

Re: When to show snow

Post by CNYWeather » Wed Dec 08, 2010 12:42 am

I commented that out.

$wdIcon = $Icon;
//$SnowRate = 0;
$gotThunder = false;
$gotMist = false;
$itsRaining = false;
$mods = "Mods:";

I'm seeing snow on there currently. Thanks!!

jmcmurry
Posts: 367
Joined: Tue Oct 13, 2009 11:09 am
Name: Jim
Location: Mauston, WI, USA
Contact:

Re: When to show snow

Post by jmcmurry » Wed Dec 08, 2010 10:29 am

Good deal Tony. It would be nice if we could get the icons working right someday though.

- Jim

CNYWeather
Posts: 34
Joined: Wed Oct 14, 2009 5:25 pm

Re: When to show snow

Post by CNYWeather » Wed Dec 08, 2010 3:23 pm

That was the whole reason I use the YoWindow icon. Seems like
the current conditions have been a thorn in everyone's side for a long time.

Thanks!

Post Reply