update frequency on widget

iomkiwi
Posts: 10
Joined: Sun Aug 01, 2010 8:23 am
Name: Alan
Location: Kerikeri New Zealand
Contact:

update frequency on widget

Post by iomkiwi » Sun Aug 01, 2010 11:41 pm

I have the widget on my site http://www.kerikeriweather.co.nz/wxyowindow.php but it doesn't seem to be updating very often. I have never seen an 'observed' time less than 30 minutes. I thought I had it set up to get the info off my site thru yowindow-xml.php but it doesn't seem to be working.

What have I done wrong or not done at all?

tell me what I need to post here to let you help me.

edit - I'm not sure that the conditions are even coming from my url, it has been raining all day sometimes heavy, but the display has always shown partly cloudy or even fair - lots of blue sky when there has been none at all.

iomkiwi
Posts: 10
Joined: Sun Aug 01, 2010 8:23 am
Name: Alan
Location: Kerikeri New Zealand
Contact:

Re: update frequency on widget

Post by iomkiwi » Tue Aug 03, 2010 8:22 am

Anyone?

User avatar
par
Posts: 8087
Joined: Mon Sep 21, 2009 11:56 am
Name: Pasha
Location: Saint-Petersburg, Russia
Contact:

Re: update frequency on widget

Post by par » Sat Aug 07, 2010 11:37 am

Here I am!


Hey, Alan, as long as your yowindow-xml.php generates the weather properly YoWindow widget will display it right.
All parameters highlighted with dark-blue are provided from the PWS directly.

Unfortunately we still have an issue with "Observed" parameter.

It displays the expiration time of the weather received from METAR station.
And we still do not display PWS "Observed" time.
Hopefully on the next PWS support round I will fix this problem.

The bottomline is that most likely the weather on your widget is up to date.
Don't worry, have fun :)
Get YoWindow weather app for your phone or tablet.

Image Image Image

iomkiwi
Posts: 10
Joined: Sun Aug 01, 2010 8:23 am
Name: Alan
Location: Kerikeri New Zealand
Contact:

Re: update frequency on widget

Post by iomkiwi » Sun Aug 08, 2010 1:27 am

par wrote:
The bottomline is that most likely the weather on your widget is up to date.
Don't worry, have fun :)
But it's not - that's what I am having fun with ;)

yowindow-xml.php says sunny (and it is) widget says shower, last rain recorded was 11 hours ago
last night it said it was clear, the picture showed a nice clear sky - and it showed rain (it was raining in the real world)

rain total does not show on widget
temp max and min are wrong, max is even showing lower than current
I not sure if I need to change my widget script to show these last items - if so how?

User avatar
par
Posts: 8087
Joined: Mon Sep 21, 2009 11:56 am
Name: Pasha
Location: Saint-Petersburg, Russia
Contact:

Re: update frequency on widget

Post by par » Sun Aug 08, 2010 10:54 am

That's bad :-(

Which weather station do you have?
Have you written http://www.kerikeriweather.co.nz/yowindow-xml.php script yourself of have you taken it from here?
http://jcweather.us/yowindow-xml.php?sce=view

Max/Min temperature range is computed from the forecast so it maybe wrong because of the poor forecast.
Current temperature is not considered in the computation now.

Next time .php output and YoWindow display will not match (rainy/sunny) please copy .php output and post it in this thread.

Next time you have a WD related question, please post it in our Weather Display forum.
Get YoWindow weather app for your phone or tablet.

Image Image Image

iomkiwi
Posts: 10
Joined: Sun Aug 01, 2010 8:23 am
Name: Alan
Location: Kerikeri New Zealand
Contact:

Re: update frequency on widget

Post by iomkiwi » Sun Aug 08, 2010 10:24 pm

I have a Davis VP2+ station, and I am using jcweather's script

.php output is as below, widget is saying heavy shower, last recorded rain was 2 hours ago

Code: Select all

<!--
PWS: Kerikeri on Mon, 09-Aug-2010 @ 09:12:09 am
Timezone: Pacific/Auckland
Data generated with yowindow-xml.php v1.9
Clouds: height 287m ... temp 9 C
Solar: 21% (present) / Rain Rate: 0.000 mm/h
WD Description:  cloudy/dry
WD: Icon #19(Partly Cloudy) changed to #19(Partly Cloudy)
Mods: solar is icon #18(Overcast) at this moment
-->
−
<response>
−
<auto_update>
<timestamp value="Mon, 09 Aug 2010 09:12:09 +1200"/>
<interval value="60"/>
<maxuploads value="30"/>
</auto_update>
−
<current_weather>
−
<temperature>
<current value="11.8"/>
</temperature>
<humidity value="86"/>
<pressure value="1012.7"/>
<solar radiation="21" energy="111.0"/>
<uv value="0.5"/>
−
<wind>
<speed value="3"/>
<direction value="242"/>
</wind>
−
<sky>
<icon id="19" format="WD"/>
<description value="Partly Cloudy"/>
−
<precipitation>
−
<rain>
<rate value="0"/>
<daily_total value="3.0"/>
</rain>
</precipitation>
<thunderstorm value="0"/>
</sky>
</current_weather>
</response>

User avatar
par
Posts: 8087
Joined: Mon Sep 21, 2009 11:56 am
Name: Pasha
Location: Saint-Petersburg, Russia
Contact:

Re: update frequency on widget

Post by par » Mon Aug 09, 2010 6:37 pm

Do you see the rain on the picture?

I have repeated the case.
And YoWindow is definetly displaying rain message, but there is no rain inside the window.

Have you altered Jim's script?
Which lines have you changed if so?
Get YoWindow weather app for your phone or tablet.

Image Image Image

iomkiwi
Posts: 10
Joined: Sun Aug 01, 2010 8:23 am
Name: Alan
Location: Kerikeri New Zealand
Contact:

Re: update frequency on widget

Post by iomkiwi » Tue Aug 10, 2010 8:46 am

No there wasn't rain showing in the picture
The only lines I have changed are in the settings - as below.

Code: Select all

// Version 1.8   4-Apr-2010 Fixed rain tags and multiplier, and added solar & uv
// Version 1.9   8-Jun-2010 Changed rain logic to exclude weather description because of language differences
// Version 2.0  22-Jun-2010 Added the minimum lightning strikes variable

// Settings
date_default_timezone_set("Pacific/Auckland");   // Zones available at http://us2.php.net/manual/en/timezones.php
$software  = "WD";
$datafile  = "./clientraw.txt";       // location of your datafiles relative to this script
$extrafile = "./clientrawextra.txt";
$metar     = "KVOK";

$incCloudTag  = false;  // if true we decide else let Yowindow decide cloud
                       // formation from METAR or WD icon (overrides $incWDiconTag if true).

$incWDiconTag = true; // if true let Yowindow decide cloud formation from WD icon.
                       // (if this is required then $incCloudTag must be false).

$reportMistAt = 115;    // meters AGL (30m = ±90ft) ... if cloud base is below this then always  //was 30
                       // report mist/fog (meters = ft / 3.2808399)
					   
$MinStrikes = 5;      // minimum number of lightning strikes to trigger lightning					

$SolarAMOffset = 60;   // Minutes to delay using solar data after sunrise due to trees or mountains to the east
$SolarPMOffset = 60;   // Minutes to stop using solar data prior to sunset due to trees or mountains to the west

$update_inteval    = 60;   // upload interval in seconds of PWS XML
$update_maxuploads = 30;   // max uploads allowed per session

// Here you can name/translate the different types of weather/clouds based on the icon code
/* CLOUD XML TAG VALUES

User avatar
par
Posts: 8087
Joined: Mon Sep 21, 2009 11:56 am
Name: Pasha
Location: Saint-Petersburg, Russia
Contact:

Re: update frequency on widget

Post by par » Tue Aug 10, 2010 4:22 pm

Ah, now I see where the problem is hiding.

You have set up YoWindow to display the clouds information from METAR ($incCloudTag = false;).
At the same time weather Description is reported from the PWS by the script.
This is a conflict condition for YoWindow.
In this case the description is displayed from METAR to avoid user confusion.

To solve this you need to set $incCloudTag variable to 'true'.

Description is displayed in a navy blue color when it is provided by PWS.
Get YoWindow weather app for your phone or tablet.

Image Image Image

iomkiwi
Posts: 10
Joined: Sun Aug 01, 2010 8:23 am
Name: Alan
Location: Kerikeri New Zealand
Contact:

Re: update frequency on widget

Post by iomkiwi » Wed Aug 11, 2010 9:03 am

Thanks
I got confused by the next tag down - I thought if WDiconTag =true then the cloudTag HAD to be set at false :?

$incWDiconTag = true; // if true let Yowindow decide cloud formation from WD icon.
// (if this is required then $incCloudTag must be false).

Is there any way to have the rain total showing on the widget?
Is it possible to not display the 'observed' time if not using a METAR?

Post Reply